Friday, January 18, 2013

Sid King & the Five Strings

I have been listening a lot to an album lately that I forgot I even had. I love rediscovering music. In this case it is a CD Bear Family put out of Sid King & the Five Strings, Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight. A friend of mine gave me a copy of this years ago and I am so glad that he did. Actually, I think he gave it to me before Viva Las Vegas #7 since Sid King was to perform that year. There are a ton of songs on this CD as per usual when it comes to Bear Family Records. Their earlier stuff was definitely more western but later got a bit more rock'n'roll. I laugh every time I hear 'Who Put the Turtle in Myrtle's Girdle' which was one of their earliest recordings as well as 'I Like It.' They then went on to record covers such as 'Drinking Wine, Spo-Dee-O-Dee,' 'Blue Suede Shoes,' and 'Ooby Dooby.' Another of my favorites off this disc is 'Sag, Drag and Fall.' Below is the track listing. Check it out!

1. I Like It
2. Crazy Little Heart
3. Put Something In The Pot Boy
4. Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee
5. But I Don't Care
6. Mama, I Want You
7. Purr, Kitty, Purr
8. Sag, Drag, And Fall
9. Blue Suede Shoes
10. Let 'Er Roll
11. Booger Red
12. Ooby Dooby
13. When My Baby Left Me
14. Good Rockin' Baby
15. Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight
16. It's True, I'm Blue
17. I've Got The Blues
18. Warmed Over Kisses, Left Over Love
19. What Have Ya Got To Lose
20. Twenty One
21. I Cried
22. Oh What You Do To Me
23. Hello There Rockin' Chair
24. Once Upon A Time
25. Who Put The Turtle In Myrtle's Girdle
26. If Tears Could Cry
27. How Easy Was It Dear
28. When My Baby Left Me
29. Good Rockin' Baby

No comments:

Post a Comment